Main Content

Governors of Stamfordham Village School

The role of the Governors

The school has its own Governing Body which includes representatives from the local authority, community, school staff as well as elected parents.  The Head Teacher will inform parents when a vacancy for a parent governor arises, ask for nominations and then arrange a ballot.  Governors are appointed to serve for a period of up to 4 years.

Collectively the Governing Body is responsible to the Local Authority for a vast range of matters. These include the delivery of the curriculum, ensuring that the school in run in accordance with the law, that all necessary policies are in place and the appointment of staff.  The day-to-day Leadership and Management and running of the school is delegated to the Head Teacher.

The full Governing Body meets at least once a term, and committees more frequently as the need arises, but at least termly.  All aspects of school life are constantly monitored and evaluated in a number of ways and the School Improvement Plan is a key document in this process. All Governors contribute towards and evaluate this document through termly visits to school.  Minutes of past Governing Body meetings are available on request at the school office.

Find out more about our Governors by clicking on each by name, to reveal their 'pen portrait'...

Local Authority Representative
Major Dave Belam (2IC Albemarle Barracks)

Community (co-opted) Governors
Aileen Duncan

Reverend Rachel Scheffer - Chair of Governors

Emma Ayton

Clare Tait

Claire Hancock

Parent Governors

James Freeman-Griffith

John Gilbert

Rob Goût

Laura Walker - Chair of Strategic Direction Committee and Vice Chair

Associate Governor (no voting rights)
Kieran McGrane

Staff Governor
Claire Tait

Head Teacher Governor
Claire McKinney

Clerk to Governors
Ian Hampson NCC

Link to the  DfE Governors' website for more details on legal responsibilities

Link to Governing Body Register of Interests

Link to Governor attendance at meetings during 2015-16

Link to Governing Body attendance at meetings during 2016-17


Another site by Differentia
W3C Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional W3C Valid CSS
End of Page ://